An Invitation

I’m doing some reading this summer and hope that others will join me in reading and engaging on some of these books.

In particular, I’m reading books about Jesus.  Books that discuss what people say about Jesus. Books that talk about the things that Jesus said and did.  Books that talk about Jesus in view of our multicultural and spiritually plural world. Books that talk about how to talk about Jesus – Speaking of Jesus.

Some of the books are easy and fun. Some are more challenging. I’m convinced that there are important lessons in each one of these texts. Lessons that may be useful for me personally as well as for how I do my work as a campus chaplain with InterVarsity Christian Fellowship. Maybe some will be useful to you too?

So here is my invitation… Take a look at the list of books about Jesus and pick one or two or three.  Read them by the date suggested.  And be prepared to share what you learn. I’ll post my own reaction on the blog each week and invite you make your own comments.

In case you’ve just stumbled on this blog, here is some more background on me…

I’m a follower of Jesus and serve as a campus chaplain with graduate students and faculty at Harvard. I’ve been at this for some time, having come to Cambridge in 1983 after seminary. A significant part of my work is advising and organizing Christian fellowships at the graduate and professional schools (HGSCF). Another part of my work is with the Harvard Chaplains and you can read more there.  I’m a fan of U2, and I love how they speak about Jesus.  I’m husband to Tara Edelschick – she has her own great blog: The Homeschool Chronicles. Tara and I have three kids – two boys and a girl – we’re all having a lot of fun!

About Jeff Barneson

Husband to Tara Edelschick Dad to Zachary, Ezra & Nafisa Keeper of Bees Campus Chaplain Bicycle Racer Coffee Drinker Follower of Jesus View all posts by Jeff Barneson

5 responses to “An Invitation

  • Brian

    Great idea Jeff. I look forward to reading your reflections…

  • Bishop

    Hey Jeff! This list looks like it will produce tremendous fruit in your life and the lives of those who come in contact with you, if by God’s grace you get through such an ambitious program. I think I may join you in reading the book by Carl. Definitely look forward to discussing what you’ve discovered at the end of this journey/journal. (Pastor)

  • Joy

    Hey Jeff! This looks great. I downloaded a couple of these books onto my Kindle. 🙂

  • Howard

    …and friends can join in the fun too??:-)

  • Eleanor Hoppe

    I got the first two books and I’ll try to keep up! I am sharing the list and invite with my small groups as well. Looks very interesting!

Leave a Reply

